10 Travel Quotes I love

1. “I soon realized that no journey carries one far unless, as it extends
into the world around us, it goes an equal distance into the world
within.” – Lillian Smith

Inishmore, Aran Islands, Ireland

2. “When a man is tired of London he is tired of life.” – Samuel Johnson

Tower Bridge, London UK

3.“The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.” – St. Augustine

Jungfrau, Switzerland

4. “When I die Dublin will be written in my heart.” – James Joyce

Glendalough, Ireland

5. “Perhaps travel cannot prevent bigotry, but by demonstrating that all
peoples cry, laugh, eat, worry, and die, it can introduce the idea that
if we try and understand each other, we may even become friends.” – Maya Angelou

Berlin Wall, Germany

6. “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you
didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail
away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover.” – Mark Twain

Brighton Beach, Brighton UK

7. “A journey is best measured in friends, rather than miles.” – Tim Cahill

Backpacking Ireland

8. “Two roads diverged in a wood and I – I took the one less traveled by.” – Robert Frost

Wicklow Mountains, Ireland

9. “For my part, I travel not to go anywhere, but to go. I travel for travel’s sake. The great affair is to move.” – Robert Louis Stevenson

Night time views from the Empire State Building, NYC

10. “No matter how far or how wide I roam/I still call Australia home.” – Peter Allen

St KIlda Sunset, Melbourne Australia

All photos by author

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ana
    Jul 17, 2010 @ 03:03:02

    Nice selection of quotes and stunning pics!

    Reply

  2. Mike
    Jul 17, 2010 @ 03:55:52

    ThumbsUp !

    Reply

  3. Trackback: All Around the World News
  4. Naomi
    Jul 17, 2010 @ 19:06:17

    I love that quote by Tom Cahill…it’s definitely true that the joy and fun in travelling is all the people you meet along the way, not just the distance you go. Thanks so much for sharing….also, if I haven’t had a chance to introduce myself, I’m Naomi, & I’m pretty sure that I wandered over here from Matador 🙂

    Reply

    • rebeccakinsella
      Jul 17, 2010 @ 22:08:51

      Thanks for stopping by Naomi. That’s one of my favourite quotes. I think the friends we make shape our experiences in life & travel more than anything else. I’m popping over to visit your blog now..

      Reply

  5. Heather
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 03:03:02

    Very cool idea for a photo essay! I liked quote #5.

    Reply

  6. Trackback: 2010 in review « The Distance To Here
  7. Kaylene
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 01:00:22

    Hi Bec, just looking back over this post. Very inspirational and motivating. I want to enlarge it and hang it on my wall.

    Reply

  8. jkozak86
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 06:07:08

    This is a great quote
    “The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.” – St. Augustine
    I’ve always loved this quote because it combines my two loves: traveling and writing.

    Reply

  9. Mike Henry
    Sep 28, 2012 @ 11:27:14

    Love the post.Every picture speaks for itself.Truly beautiful.

    Reply

  10. Mike Henry
    Dec 13, 2012 @ 12:49:34

    it’s really a great and helpful piece of information. I am happy that you shared this useful info with us.

    Reply

Leave a comment