Finding my story…

So, I cheated a little bit here, and instead of researching Uruguay for this MatadorU assignment, I researched New York City.  I’m heading there in March and thought this would be a great way to start planning articles.

There are quite a few NYC articles on Matador focusing on budget travel, free things to do and winter activities; references are also made in many blogs and articles on American and world travel.

As I’ll be there for St. Patrick’s Day (and the biggest parade in the world) one angle would be to explore the diaspora, parade, celebrations and all things American-Irish.

Matadortrips.com

Category: DESTINATIONS

In reading up on my trip, most guide books mention the queues, waiting lists and the need to book in advance for many activities and restaurants. Therefore, my article for Matador Trips would focus on Avoiding the Queues in NYC. I’d seek input from family and friends who’ve visited NYC and also checkout online forums for tips.

Matadornights.com

Category: FESTIVALS

While looking for trip advice in online articles and chat forums, I’ve made note of a lot of advice that could be expanded for an article prior to my trip, such as 5 Essential Tips for Surviving St Pat’s Day in NYC.

On returning home, I’d like to take advantage of my holiday snap-happiness by preparing a photo essay titled Parade Highlights from St Pat’s Day, NYC. My selection of photos would capture the floats, people, characters and colour of the parade down Fifth Avenue. Before I leave I’ll research details of the parade, including time, route, best viewing spots and parade participants. This photo essay could also double as my MatadorU chapter 11 assignment.

Matadorchange.com

Category: ACTIVISM

My article for Matador Change would be presented as an interview, with a spokesperson from the Irish Lesbian and Gay Organization (ILGO).

Organisers of the St. Patrick’s Day Parade have banned anyone identifying as lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender, from openly participating in the parade. The ILGO, along with other protest groups, have been fighting this for over 10 years through public demonstrations and court proceedings. Many believe that this religious stance undermines the Proclamation of the Irish Republic, which promoted “cherishing all the children of the nation equally…”. My article would aim to highlight this issue, and the progress they have made over the years.

I’ve finally set up a flickr account and uploaded photos from a WWOOFing trip around Ireland last year:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/rebeccakinsella/?saved=1

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kelly
    Feb 26, 2010 @ 01:23:57

    Hey Rebecca – Just wanted to say hi, I am new to Matador. That is awesome that you are writing a novel about Ireland – good luck!

    Reply

  2. Heather
    Mar 01, 2010 @ 21:45:23

    These are some great ideas. I admit I cheated on this one too. I researched Pakistan and Morocco instead of Uruguay, as those are two places I’ve lived and traveled in. Hope to see these NYC articles published!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

